Project Management

A project is a collection of artifacts, devices, run groups, images, hardware profiles, and releases. The project management tool enables admins to customize who has access to each collection—by minimizing the visible work in each project, keeping artifacts focused in one area, and implementing the lock feature.

The lock feature prevents people from disturbing static projects between engineering cycles, ensuring the integrity of the project’s state. Additionally, the project management tool limits vendor and consultant’s access to sensitive project developments. The Switch Project UI lets users quickly switch between the assigned projects.

View list of projects

  1. Login to KOS Studio, select Settings  (in the upper right corner of the screen) > Project Management.
  2. Project management opens in a new window. Here, you can see the list of projects available for your organization.
  3. You can click on each project to view the details. Consider following :
    • Public Project: A public tag indicates a public project. The project details section displays a note saying all organization members can access the project.
    • Restricted Projects: A restricted tag indicates a restricted project. Users can be added or removed from the project.

Create a project

  1. Login to KOS Studio, select Settings  (in the upper right corner of the screen) > Project Management.
  2. Project management opens in a new window. Here, you can see the list of projects available for your organization.
  3. On the project management window, click on Create new project.
  4. Fill in the details about the project on the Create new project pop-up:
    • Name – The project’s name should be unique within your organization
    • Description – Description of the project
    • Restricted – Indicate if all the organization’s members can access the project.
    • Lock – Indicate if you want to lock the project so it can not be edited.
  5. Click on “Create” to create a project.

Edit a project

  1. Login to KOS Studio, select Settings  (in the upper right corner of the screen) > Project Management.
  2. Project management opens in a new window. Here, you can see the list of projects available for your organization.
  3. Select the project you want to edit.
  4. On the project management window, click on the edit icon.
  5. Update the details about the project on the Update project pop-up :
    • Name – The project’s name should be unique within your organization
    • Description – Description of the project
    • Restricted – Indicate if all the organization’s members can access the project.
    • Lock – Lock the project so it can not be edited
    • Hide – Hidden projects are not displayed on the switch projects screens, and this is a great way to block access until you are ready for other users to access them.
  6. Click on Update to update project details.

Delete a project

  1. Login to KOS Studio, select Settings (in the upper right corner of the screen) > Project Management.
  2. Project management opens in a new window. Here, you can see the list of projects available for your organization.
  3. Select the project you want to delete.
  4. On the project management window, click on the delete icon.
  5. Delete Project pop-up displays, as deleting projects can not be reversed, the user should type in the exact name of the project to be deleted.
  6. If the project name typed in the text box matches with the project being deleted, the delete button becomes active. Click on delete.
  7. Consider the following:
    • Deleting a project deletes all the artifacts, devices, images, and all other project data, and once deleted, it can not be reversed.

Assign / Remove users to a restricted project.

  1. Login to KOS Studio, select Settings  (in the upper right corner of the screen) > Project Management
  2. Project management opens in a new window. Here, you can see the list of projects available for your organization.
  3. Select the project to which you want to add users from the list.
  4. In the project details section, you can see a list of users who can access the project.
  5. All active users within your organization have access to public projects, and this is indicated on the project details screen.
  6. For private projects, KOS Studio displays the list of active users within your organization using the Sharing Permissions section.
  7. You can click the checkbox next to the user you want to give or remove access to.
  8. Selected users can switch to the restricted project via the Switch Project screen.